All T20 World Cup Winners List

T20 World Cup Winners List

T20 World Cup Winners List: The International Cricket Council T20 Men’s World Cup is looked forward to by almost everyone, they also like to bet on IPL cricket; all children, elderly and middle age people. Everyone anticipates this tournament with their whole heart. This tournament was first initiated in 2007 and has won the hearts of the masses ever since. It only takes place one time in a two year time period. However, it is scheduled to take place in Australia in 2022. It is an international cricket tournament in which teams from all over the world participate to secure the ICC T20 World Cup trophy for their homeland.

T20 World Cup Champion List

Country NameNo. of times winnerYear 
West Indies 22012, 2016
India 12007
Sri Lanka 12014
England 12010

T20 World Cup 2007 – India

This was the first tournament ever held for T20 world cup. India won the championship in 2007. It was led by MS Dhoni. The final was between India and Pakistan. Throughout the tournament India lost only one match and that was against New Zealand.  The team included.

  • MS Dhoni
  • Gautam Gambhir
  • Virender Sehwag
  • Robin Uthappa
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Dinesh Karthik
  • Irfan Pathan
  • Yusuf Pathan
  • RP Singh
  • Joginder Sharma
  • Harbhajan Singh
  • Ajit Agarkar
  • Sreesanth
  • Piyush Chawla

T20 World Cup Champion 2009 – Pakistan

This was the second ever tournament held for T20 world cup by International Cricket Council. Pakistan won the finals against Sri Lanka. This match was hosted in England. The defeated team, Sri Lanka, only made 138 scores in 20 over with knocked out Wickets. The team included; 

  • Younis Khan 
  • Abdul Razzaq
  • Ahmed Shehzad 
  • Fawad Alam 
  • Iftikhar Anjum 
  • Kamran Akmal 
  • Misbah-ul-Haq 
  • Mohammad Amir 
  • Saeed Ajmal 
  • Salman Butt 
  • Shahid Afridi
  • Shahzaib Hasan
  • Shoaib Malik 
  • Sohail Tanvir
  • Umar Gul 
  • Shoaib Akhtar 
  • Yasir Arafat 

T20 World Cup 2010 – England

England lost their opening match with West Indies however, they made a splendid comeback throughout the game and won all the other matches. This led them to finals and England became the first team that was not Asian to bag the T20 world cup of 2010. Their captain at the time was Paul Coolling and their wicket keeper was Craig Kieswetter. The team included; 

  • Pual Collingwood
  • Craig Kieswetter
  • James Anderson
  • Ravi Bopara 
  • Tim Bresnan 
  • Stuart Broad 
  • Michael Lumb 
  • Eoin Morgan 
  • Micheal Yardy
  • Kevin Pietersen 
  • James Tredwell
  • Ajmal Shahzad 
  • Ryan Sidebottom 
  • Luke Wright
  • Graeme Swann 

World Cup T20 Winner 2012 – West Indies

In 2012, West Indies lost their starting match. However, they made a very strong comeback by winning all of the other matches and secured themselves a spot in the finals. In the finals, they bagged the ICC T20 world trophy 2012 for the first time. This championship was hosted by Sri Lanka in 2012 and Sri Lanka was also the opponent team. West Indies defeated them in their homeland. The team consisted of;

  • Samuel Badree
  • Darren Bravo
  • Dwayne Bravo
  • Johnson Charles
  • Fidel Edwards
  • Chris Gayle
  • Kieron Pollard
  • Sunil Narine
  • Denesh Ramdin 
  • Ravi Rampaul
  • Andre Russell
  • Darren Sammy 
  • Marlon Samuels
  • Lendl Simmons
  • Dwayne Smith

Sri Lanka 2014 – T20 World Cup Winner

The captain of the Sri Lankan team in 2012 T20 world cup was Angelo Mathews. The final match was won by Sri Lanka. It was between Sri Lanka and India. When they won the match by six wickets at that time they still had 13 balls left.  The team included;

  • Angelo Mathews 
  • Dinesh Chandimal
  • Tillakaratne Dilshan
  • Kusal Perera
  • Kumar Sangakkara
  • Mahela Jayawardene
  • Lahiru Thirimanne
  • Ashan Priyanjan
  • Chathuranga De Silva
  • Suranga Lakmal
  • Sachithra Senanayake
  • Thisara Perera
  • Nuwan Kulasekara
  • Ajantha Mendis
  • Lasith Malinga

T20 World Cup Winners Team 2016 – West Indies

The captain of the West Indies team in 2016 T20 world cup was Daren Sammy. Under his captaincy, they won against all of their rivals teams except that one match against Afghanistan. The final match was won by West Indies. It was between West Indies and England. After their victory in 2016, West Indies became the sole team to have this honour for two times.  The team included;

  • Daren Sammy 
  • Samuel Badree
  • Sulieman Benn 
  • Carlos Brathwaite 
  • Dwayne Bravo 
  • Johnson Charles
  • Chris Gayle 
  • Jason Holder
  • Evin Lewis 
  • Ashley Nurse
  • Denesh Ramdin
  • Andre Russell portrait
  • Marlon Samuels
  • Lendl Simmons
  • Jerome Taylor
  • Darren Bravo
  • Andre Fletcher
  • Sunil Narine
  • Kieron Pollard

Last T20 World Cup 2021 – Australia

The captain of the Australian team in 2021 T20 world cup was Aaron Flinch. Under his captaincy, the team strived and emerged victorious throughout the tournament. Australia was declared the favourite team during the championship. The final match was won by Australia. It was between Australia and New Zealand. They won the game by 8 wickets. The match of the man for the last T20 world cup 2021 was Mitchell Marsh.  The team included;

  • Aaron Finch 
  • Ashton Agar
  • Pat Cummins 
  • Josh Hazlewood
  • Josh Inglis
  • Mitchell Marsh
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Kane Richardson
  • Steve Smith
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Mitchell Swepson
  • Matthew Wade
  • David Warner
  • Adam Zampa

yuva sri

Hi I'm Yuvasri, I worked as a Digital Marketing Analyst and I do On-Page, and Off-Page Optimization regularly. I'm very passionate about creating content for new films, videos, series, entertainment of different genres. I am providing content that those who are more excited about the movies to follow my blogs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *